Innkeepers Collection of Antiques, Artifacts, and Eye Candy

In the Main House

The Fascinating Boring Machine and the Mortise and Tenon Joint

Take a look at this hand-cranked boring machine that dates back to the early 1900s. It was used to bore holes in massive wooden beams to create mortise and tenon joints. A mortise and tenon joint is a connection between two pieces of wood or other materials. This type of joint has been utilized by woodworkers all over the world for thousands of years, particularly when the connecting pieces are at right angles. Mortise and tenon joints are renowned for their strength and stability, making them an ideal choice for many woodworking projects.


Edison's Standard Phonograph

In 1887, German American inventor Emile Berliner (1851–1929) patented the 'gramophone', a technology for recording and playing back sound. His work, which brought together developments in telephony, radio and synthetic materials, revolutionised the way we experience sound.


Heckman Ancestory | Snapshot of Family History from 1905

Ruth, the current owner of this photograph, reveals that it was taken over a century ago when her grandfather was just two years old. He can be seen as the youngest boy in the picture.


Cast Iron Platform Weighing Scale

The History of a Cast Iron Platform Weighing Scale from the Late 19th Century
In 1831, Thaddeus Fairbanks, an American inventor and manufacturer, received his first patent for a platform scale designed to weigh heavy items. This was the beginning of a new era for weighing scales, particularly cast iron platform scales from the late 19th century.


Antique Coal Purdonium

A Victorian Solution- Victorian cabinet makers had an ingenious solution for the unattractive appearance of coal in the dining room. They crafted unique small furniture pieces, known as the Antique Coal Purdonium, to store coal in a decorative manner.


Carriage House Items

Virginia is for Lovers

We're always on the lookout for creative ways to [better] spell out the word "LOVE", currently in front of our carriage house. It's a fun hobby that takes us to yard sales and antique shops on the weekends. So far, our collection includes a shelf bracket from Lynchburg's Habitat for Humanity Restore, a pulley wheel, and a plow blade made at the Lynchburg Foundry.


Lineberry Factory Cart

During the 1900s, Lineberry Foundry and Machine Co. sold three-wheel carts to various factories throughout the Southeast as quickly as they could produce them in Wilkesboro, NC. These carts, constructed of oak and cast iron wheels, bolts, and plates, were extremely durable. Originally utilized for transporting baggage in train depots, these carts have since been given the nickname "railroad carts." Although most of the factories that utilized these carts have closed down, the reliable Lineberry carts have continued to withstand the test of time.


Hay Bail Grapple Hook, Cast Iron Bale Loader

A Tool for Bringing Hay Bales into the 2nd Floor HayLoft. In the past, hay bales were brought into the hayloft using an antique hay bale grabber. The grabber was connected to a pulley at the top of the carriage house by a rope. By placing the grabber over a bale and pulling the rope, the hook would dig into the bale and allow the stable master to hoist it into the hayloft with ease.


The Holwick Electric Store Counter Top Coffee Grinder 

From around 1920, consisting of an iron base, cylindrical motor, aluminum hopper with a lid, and a red painted tin catch bin to collect the ground coffee. The grinder has a silver-colored metal knob for adjusting the grind. The electrical cord is missing.


Custom made Tiger Oak Gentleman's Closet from the original Master Suite in Mansion

The Best of My Love Suite in the Carriage House is home to the original Master Closet, which had major suffered water damage to its top due to years of roof damage that was unattended. Fortunately, during a the 2007-09 renovation, it was restored, repurposed, and ultimately relocated. The 2nd part of the story is how this very large piece of furniture made it into the 2nd floor of the carriage house fully assembled (hint this suite was formerly named the hayloft suite). Just ask...


Corn Sheller

In 1839, the modern corn sheller was patented. This hand-operated machine, which stands on its own, is designed to remove individual kernels of corn by pulling the cob through a series of metal-toothed cylinders. The cylinders strip the kernels from the cob, making it a more efficient process.


Carriage House Kitchen Radiator


The U.S. Radiator and Boiler Co's plant on the Youghiogheny River in West Newton, Pennsylvania is depicted in this image on the left. A boiler constructed in the 1910s at this plant is now situated on a shelf in the Carriage House kitchen.


Postman's Desk

A Look into the History of a 19th Century , this postman's desk from the 1890s comes with a unique feature: a side mail slot, perfect for dropping off outgoing mail after hours. At the postman’s feet, you'll find two hidden compartments, which the postman used to store his wine and glasses.


Pictures found throughout the house

Point of Honor

Located at 112 Cabell St, just 2 blocks down Cabell street from us, Point of Honor is a renowned city museum and historical home with captivating views of the James River and the city. You may wonder how it got its name – the property was once a secret dueling ground. There are several other pictures of this great historical home in the house.


Local artist Berthea Owen

Berthea Owen, born in 1922, originally from Lynchburg, drew these three homes in 1975. The top illustration depicts the oldest house in Garland Hill, located at 303 Madison St. This particular residence was once the residence of Mike, the current owner of this photograph. The other two images highlight a house in both Diamond Hill and Federal Hill. Mike lived in 303 Madison, the house at the top in high school, his introduction to living in an historical home.


Discover Lynchburg, the City of Seven Hills

Lynchburg is recognized as the City of Seven Hills, with each hill boasting a prominent historic home. Daniel's Hill is home to Point of Honor, which is only two blocks down Cabell St. from our current location and the first home built on Daniels Hill.


The Aviary Building

The Aviary Building is a hidden gem located in Miller Park, and it's one of the city's most fascinating historic sites. In 1903, this unique building was home to an array of exotic birds and other animals, such as bears, monkeys, rabbits, and wolves. It was also a sanctuary for various reptiles, including snakes. Today, it serves as a rental space for events, weddings, and meetings. In fact, Mike and Ruth, the current homeowners, rented the space for their wedding reception back in 1995. There are a few other pictures on this special building around the home.


This is a silk scarf that was sold at Thalhimers to commemorate Lynchburg’s Bicentennial in 1986. A Proud Past, A Progressive Future


1

Poplar Forest: Thomas Jefferson’s summer home

2

Randolph Macon Woman’s College which is now Randolph Macon because it transitioned to co-education in 2007 after 115 years of existence.

3

The Miller-Claytor House:

Constructed in 1791 for the prominent tavern keeper John Miller, the Miller-Claytor House is a significant landmark in Lynchburg. As the sole surviving 18th-century townhouse in the area, visitors can explore its rich heritage by taking a tour of the Riverside Park.

4

City of Churches:

Throughout Lynchburg can be found various churches of different sects and times. Downtown, there are churches that date back to the 1800’s and are beautiful architectural pieces.

5

Anne Spencer House and Edankraal:

A celebrated poet and civil rights activist, who was also an avid gardener, and resided in Lynchburg, Virginia. The Spencer home, which was erected in 1903 by Anne's husband, Edward, served as a hub for Black intellectuals and cultural icons during the Harlem Renaissance. Today, it is a historic site and museum listed on the National Register of Historic Places in Virginia. Her writing cottage, located in the garden, is called "Edankraal," derived from the names of Anne and Edward and the Afrikaans term "kraal" meaning enclosure or corral.

6

The inspiring rise of Monument Terrace commemorates Lynchburg citizens who fought and died in the Civil War, Spanish-American War, World Wars I and II, Korea, Vietnam and the present day. At the base on Church Street stands the iconic doughboy statue. Many other sculptures and markers line the 139 steps and terraces all the way to the top, where the Lynchburg Museum at the Old Court House stand.

A group of veterans known as Monument Terrace Troop rally have assembled at the bottom of the stairs every Friday for 20+ years as a way of showing support for U.S. troops.

7

Point of Honor:

Point of Honor represents the intersection of two worlds: the landowners and the enslaved people who together created the beautiful historic site we know today.

8

James River:

The James River is a river in Virginia that begins in the Appalachian Mountains and flows 348 miles to the Chesapeake Bay.

9

Lynchburg College:

The University of Lynchburg, formerly Lynchburg College, is a private university associated with the Christian Church and located in Lynchburg. It has approximately 2,800 undergraduate and graduate students. The university's campus spans 264 acres

10

Lynchburg Courthouse:

Built in 1855, the courthouse occupies a prominent position overlooking the steeply descending steps of Monument Terrace.

11

Quaker Meeting House:

In the mid-eighteenth century, pioneer Quakers settled the Lynchburg area. South River Meeting was organized in 1757 when Sarah Lynch gave 2 acres of land for the Quaker’s first meeting house. The first meeting house burned in 1768, and a framed building was erected. Within 25 years the increased membership made necessary the building of a larger one. In 1791, John Lynch, Founder of Lynchburg, gave 10 acres of land and a stone building was built. The building has been restored to its late 18th century appearance.

12

Sweet Briar College:

It is a private women's liberal arts college in Sweet Briar, Amherst County, Virginia. It was established in 1901 by Indiana Fletcher Williams in memory of her deceased daughter, Daisy. The college formally opened its doors in 1906 and granted the B.A. degree for the first time in 1910.

13

Liberty University:

Liberty University (LU) is a private Christian university . It was founded in 1971 by Jerry Falwell Sr. and Elmer Towns. Liberty is among the world's largest Christian universities and the largest private non-profit universities in the United States by total student enrollment. Most of its enrollment is in online courses. In 2020, the university enrolled about 15,000 in its residential program and 80,000 online.

14

Blue Ridge Mountains:

The Blue Ridge Mountains are a physiographic province of the larger Appalachian Highlands range. The mountain range is located in the Eastern United States, and extends 550 miles southwest from southern Pennsylvania through Maryland, West Virginia, Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, and Georgia.


Lynchburg: Sports Capital of Virginia - Artwork from 1998


1

Albert Lewis Orth:

Born in Sedalia MO in 1872.

Albert Lewis Orth was an American right-handed pitcher in Major League Baseball. He later served as a major league umpire and college baseball coach. He coached at VMI and Washington and Lee. He died in Lynchburg in 1948 and is buried at Spring Hill Cemetery.

2

Kit McKenna:

Born in Lynchburg in 1873.

Kristian "Kit" Kerr McKenna was a Major League Baseball player, from Lynchburg, who pitched for the Brooklyn Bridegrooms and Baltimore Orioles during the two seasons in which he played. He died in 1941.

3

Bill Dudley:

Born in 1921 in Graham VA

He began his football career at UVA in 1938 and soon became their star player. He then played professionally for the Steelers, the Lions and the Redskins. His success earned him places in the Virginia Sports Hall of Fame, the College Hall of Fame, and the Professional Football Hall of Fame. His wife of 63 years, Libba, was originally from Lynchburg. After his career in football, he began working in the life insurance business. He died here in Lynchburg in 2010.

4

Jimmie Benton Bryan:

Born in Staunton VA in 1916

He was Lynchburg’s former mayor and legendary high school basketball coach at E.C. Glass High School for 27 years. He served three terms as mayor starting in 1984 and remained a booster of the city after his term in City Hall with the unofficial title of “Mr. Lynchburg.” He died in Lynchburg in 2005.

5

William Shellenberger

Born in Reading PA in 1921

In 1952, “Bill” and his wife came to Lynchburg to fill an interim position at Lynchburg College and never left. He started the soccer program there in 1954, and in 1956 he had his first of 31 consecutive winning seasons. He has been inducted into seven halls of fame and received numerous regional and national awards. He died in Lynchburg in 2009.

6

Calvin Porter:

Born in Hyde County NC in 1928

After graduating from Lynchburg College, he joined the team at Lynchburg News and Advance where he was a reporter and sports editor. His work there got him inducted into the Greater Lynchburg Area Sports Hall of Fame. He died here in Lynchburg in 2003.

7

Vince Bradford:

Arriving in 1944, Vince Bradford left an indelible mark on Lynchburg and EC Glass, coaching successful football and track teams. Under his leadership, the football team amassed an impressive record of 171 wins, 15 district championships, and 3 undefeated seasons. Similarly, his track teams achieved 300 victories, 32 district championships, and a state championship. In honor of his contributions, the EC Glass track was named after him, and one of the fields at Miller Park bears his name. Bradford also served as Commissioner of Little League Baseball.

8

Virginia Ten Miler:

Rudy Straub and friends (Lynchburg Road Runners) created the Virginia Ten Miler in 1974. For 50+ years, runners have come from a wide variety of states and countries to participate in a race that shows off the hills of Lynchburg.

9

George William Fix, “Bill”

Born in Seabrook Island SC in 1930

Bill's passion was tennis. Not only was he an excellent player, but he also dedicated much of his adult life to promoting and building youth and amateur tennis programs. He co-founded the Lynchburg Tennis Patrons Association, and in 1960, co-founded the Central Virginia Invitational Tennis Tournament (CVITT), of which he was the tournament director for over 40 years. He died June 5, 2016.

10

Dr. R Walter Johnson

Born in Norfolk VA in 1899

Known as the "godfather" of black tennis, Johnson founded an all-expenses-paid tennis camp for African-American children and hired instructors. In those years in the segregated South, they had no public courts where they could learn tennis, and many did not have money for lessons. Johnson was instrumental in encouraging the athletic careers of both Althea Gibson and Arthur Ashe. He was also the first African-American physician to receive practice rights at Lynchburg General Hospital. He died at that hospital in 1971.

11

Liberty University Athletics:

A thriving athletics program has been an integral part of Liberty University’s vision from the beginning, and today Liberty has 20 NCAA Division I athletic teams, 40+ Club Sports teams, and 20+ intramural sports. They have won over 190 Division 1 conference titles. The Vines Convocation Center, also known as simply The Vines Center, is a 9,547-seat multi-purpose arena. It was built in 1990 and was home to the Liberty University Flames and Lady Flames basketball teams from its opening until the adjacent Liberty Arena opened in 2020.

12

Calvin Falwell and the Lynchburg Hillcats:

Baseball has been played in Lynchburg since 1866, but since 1940, its been played at City Stadium. The first game in 1940 was between Brooklyn Dodgers and the New York Yankees.

Calvin Falwell is credited with bringing the Carolina League to town. He was called Mr. Baseball. The Stadium was named after him from 2004 until 2020. Calvin died in 2011 at the age of 90.


(A) shows the addition of first floor bedroom, that was added on when R.T Watts (the original owner) had a stroke and was no longer able to use the stairs.

(B) is taken from the yard across the street. You see the original carriage house and wooden picket fence. The wrap around porch has been added.

(C) is Lynchburg postcard. This house is on the right. You can see the brick columns.

(D) is the oldest photo of the house. This picture was taken before the portico, the wrap-around porch and iron fence. You can see the original carriage house on the right facing D Street.

(E) is the before the house next to this one was built. You can see the footpath through the field and the carriage house is still facing D street.

(F) shows the current carriage house and rod iron fence with brick pillars


Watts Family Pictures found in Peaceful Easy Feeling Suite:

Richard Thomas Watts:

R.T. Watts, the original owner of 404 Cabell Street, was born in Bedford County, Virginia on September 5, 1838. He attended Emory and Henry College in Emory, VA. During the Civil War, he served as a private and color bearer.

After the war, he went into business with his brother James W. Watts and brother-in-law George M. Jones to form one of the first wholesale houses in the city: Jones, Watts, & Co, a hardware store. The business thrived and expanded, with three stores in Lynchburg and branches in Bedford City, Danville, Salem, and Roanoke. In 1887, the company was sold to Bell, Barker, & Jennings, and Watts retired from the hardware trade.

Watts had a variety of interests, including coal mining and real estate investments. He was vice president of the Lynchburg Trust and Savings Company and director of the Lynchburg Cotton Mill. He passed away on September 21, 1910.

In his will, he bequeathed the house and lot at 404 Cabell Street, including all of its contents, his carriage and horses, and $135,000 ($4.3 million in 2023 money) to his wife Emma. At the time of his death, his total estate was worth over $900,000 or more than $29 million in today's dollars (2023).

Emma Watts:

Emma T. Watts was born on July 2, 1849, and likely grew up at 314 Cabell Street. On April 22, 1874, she married R.T. Watts, and together they had eleven children, though only five survived into adulthood. Tragically, Emma passed away unexpectedly on March 22, 1911 while visiting California. Since she died without a will, her children came to an agreement that the house and lot at 404 Cabell Street would be given to Mary Watts, the youngest of R.T. and Emma's children. Mary moved into the house immediately, where she later married and raised her own family.

Mary and Susan Watts

Mary F. Watts was the youngest child of R.T. and Emma Watts, born on February 2, 1889. Following her mother's passing in 1911, Mary moved into this very house. On October 16th, 1920, she married John Williams James, who hailed from Culpeper. They resided in the home until 1928, when they sold it to Lena Fore. John James worked at Craddock Terry Shoe Company as a vice president for 43 years before moving to the Peoples National Bank and Trust in Lynchburg. Mary Watts James passed away on February 2, 1979.

Phyllis Payne Watts:

Phyllis is one of the five Watts' children that made it to adulthood. There is no known history about her career or spouse.

Tom and Stephen Watts

Richard Thomas Jr. was born on March 18, 1876, and grew to become one of Lynchburg's top merchants and businessmen. He held various positions, including President of Watts Brothers Company, Vice President of Lynchburg Trust and Savings Bank, and President of the Board of Trade. Richard was also involved in numerous city ventures.

Stephen H. Watts was born on August 6, 1877. He pursued a career in medicine and eventually became a professor at the medical department of University of Virginia. In 1914, he married Sarah Elizabeth Peel Tilt and he adopted her daughter. They did not have any other children.


Lena Fore

She owned 404 Cabell Street from 1928 to 1961. She began renting furnished rooms to travelers in 1938, and the property became known as Cabell and D Street Tourist Home. During World War II, it housed soldiers, sailors, and marines. In the late 1950s, the property reverted to being a single-family residence. Lena's sister became her legal guardian when her health declined. In 1961, four of Lena's properties, including 404 Cabell Street, were sold at public auction as part of a chancery court case.